Run The Rock Recovery

When my daughter-in-law Jen set up this blog for me to encourage donations to Nepal School Projects I committed to doing a weekly update. Admittedly the quality is variable but I have been fairly religious in doing at least one post a week. However, this week every time that I sit down at the computer I have an overwhelming urge to take a nap! So not sure how coherent or interesting this week’s product will be.  Consider that your warning, and if you read on don’t be surprised if you too start to nod off.

I am blaming my exhaustion on the Run The Rock Marathon that occurred last Sunday. Much of my sleep deficit was from earlier in the week when I was getting up at a ridiculously early hour since I couldn’t sleep due to my mind working overtime on race logistics. It got so bad that I was up at 4:00 on Saturday because I was lying in bed worrying if we had properly marked the Half Marathon runners’ bibs for those who registered late. Rather than continue to worry I got up to check, and then one thing lead to another…. Race day on Sunday was actually a relief. Once we had the start/finish area set up, and the clock ticked down to 8:30 start I was able to convert from Race Director to runner and left all the last minute glitches to the rest of the organizing committee.

We were really pleased to have much higher registration than we had anticipated, and even though the course is challenging (lots of hills and it turned out to be the hottest day of the summer) most runners really enjoyed their race. Only one young marathoner was vocal about the course being too difficult. To stop his rant I pointed out that you don’t get bragging points doing an easy, flat course. Our course is definitely tough and we are proud of it. Most runners were asking what the date would be for next year so they could come back.

After the marathon I attempted to escape by going sea kayaking for two days with my buddy Ken. However, it was challenging to get any sleep when our tent was on a slope and I continually found myself sliding downhill and winding up in a ball at the foot of the tent. So sleep deprivation has lasted longer than usual.

However, our efforts to put on a marathon on Texada Island pale in comparison to the incredible challenge that the Everest Marathon organizers have to contend with. They are bringing together an international group with very different training and skill levels, take us on a 16 day trek up to base camp with all the logistics involved in trekking with group so large that it has to be split into 3 teams, then putting on a marathon that starts at over 17,000 ft (complete with large medical team). All of this to raise funds to help Nepal. My hat is definitely off to Penny and her dedicated team.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment